The 5th and final lap of the competition, from Zoetele to Yaounde (118.9 km), organised on 7 October 2023, was graced with the presence of the indefatigable patroness – Mrs Chantal BIYA.

Cameroon’s legendary hospitality filled the 20th May Boulevard upon her arrival, which marked the beginning of the award ceremony. The highpoint was the First Lady’s act of generosity towards the 60 cyclists and members of the 10 participating teams – who each received a symbolic gift from her at the presidential grandstand.

First Lady Chantal BIYA later moved to the podium, where she decorated the overall winner of the tour – Hamza Yacine from Algeria – with the yellow jersey.

Meanwhile, representatives of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI), and the Team France Clubs Defense expressed their gratitude to Mrs Chantal BIYA for her steadfast support since the inception of the international cycling tour that is in its 23rd edition.  

The other contenders who received distinctions include: Chren Martin from Slovakia (winner of the last lap); Niyonkuru Samuel from Rwanda (best young rider); and Kamzong Clovis of the SNH Velo Club (best Cameroonian cyclist).